Issue 2017-2018 / 3, June.2018 Issue 2017-2018 / 3, June.2018


The AGM is the most important ISA section event of the year. The Executive committee for 2017-18 remitted office and the new core team was elected . Many other points were part of the agenda.

Quorum-With 53 members present , we had much more than the minimum quorum of 20 % of membership strength to conduct the AGM. The annual report of section activities and the financial statements were handed over to each participant.

    Welcome and Annual Update :
  • The outgoing President , Ram Kerur gave the Welcome Address and , in the absence of the Secretary for 2017-18 Umashankar AB , Ram himself read out the annual report of a very eventful and financially successful year gone by .
  • The Audited Accounts were presented by the outgoing Treasurer , Mallikarjun Sajjanar. This was followed by lively discussions and a few observations of members present were noted down for ensuring clarity on certain points in the statements in this report as well as of those in future.
  • Honours & Awards were announced by Shankar B mainly pertaining to Student Section activities with the following being the Awardees Best Student Section – VIT , Vellore Best Faculty Advisor – Dr. Kalpana of SIT , Tumkur Best Student Member – Keshav Kumar Thakur of BMSCE , 2nd best being Akash from RNSIT The commendable support in creating newsletters extended by Dhruv Palrecha and Nihal Desai of BMSCE was also acknowledged at the event.

Hand-over by Outgoing President - Mr. Ram Kerur then handed over the baton formally to the President Elect Dr.Sunil Shah , Director , Modelicon Infotech who outlined his plans for 2018-19 to continue and build upon the work of the previous team.

Election of new core team - With Mr.Palaniyappan being the Returning Officer , the elections to the key posts of the Executive Committee for 2018-19 was conducted and the team (elected unopposed ) is.. Secretary – Anil Kumar Treasurer – Mallikarjun Sajjanar Vice-president – Girish Ayya President Elect (for 2019-20) – Jayesh Barve


The nominated posts of various chairs – for Membership , Newsletter Editor , Publications , Webmaster , Honours & Awards , Programs, Student Section and many more are getting finalized and shall be announced by the time of the first EC meeting scheduled for the 7th of July , 2018. Any member interested to volunteer can always be accommodated , said Sunil Shah , and he can be contacted for the same .

Trustee elections - A few positions for Trustees of ISA Bangalore Section had become vacant and the election was conducted for these posts. The nominations received were equal to number of vacancies and the following veteran ISA members with many years of service to the Section were all elected , namely , SR Venkatapathy , Ram Kerur and Dr.KLS Sharma. It may be mentioned here that as per the Trust bye-laws , the two other trustees shall be the President and Secretary of the new executive committee – namely Dr.Sunil Shah and Anil Kumar.


A touching felicitation was then made to Mr.S Palaniyappan who retired from the post of Administrative officer after a devoted and efficient stint of almost 15 years .


A warm send-off speech extolling him was made by Shri S R Venkatapathy . It was announced that M Gururaj , a Senior member with many years of volunteer service at various Section roles , is stepping in to the post of Admin.Officer.

Each participant received a fine pen as compliments for attending and , of course , a multi-course lunch followed with lively informal interactions.